3 Days Left….

Less than 3 days left. That’s how much time I have until I go to the hospital to have our baby. People keep asking me how I feel. And to be honest…..I am anxious, nervous, scared, excited, and ambivalent. Sometimes I feel one emotion at a time. Sometimes all at once.

Our lives will change forever on Monday. Up until now, the process has pretty much been automated inside me (Thanks Placenta!) but now, it will all be up to me and Lenny. That is terrifying! I’m not complaining (Goodness knows this was not an accident or surprise pregnancy), but I am just being honest. It has just been about Lenny and I for 10 years. We are kinda selfish in our cocoon and love it.

It’s not like I am going to miss going to the club and staying out til 3am. I have actually never done that. I am a homebody, so I know my life isn’t going to change in that way. We are just adding a baby to our life. But that is still scary. It’s not like a dog you can put in a cage and come back to after work. This is literally a 24/7 job. And from what I hear, it ain’t easy.

I know that we have prepared as much as possible but most of parenting, you can’t prepare for. And I have accepted that. I think that the most I can do is to prepare to wing it. Same goes for the labor and delivery. I haven’t even let myself think about the hours of pain….

So to answer how I feel, I feel happy and ready to start this new chapter.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. spiteorflight
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 15:54:24

    No one can really prepare you for those first weeks. You will be exhausted and delirious, and happy and sad, and terrified and anxious, and if you’re breastfeeding — woooo boy, that can be just as hard. But it gets so much easier. In the middle of the night when you’re exhausted and you’re crying, and you’re wondering what the hell have you gotten yourself into (we’ve all been there!) just remember that it does get easier!

    Reply

  2. loveh3
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 16:13:08

    Excited for you; so close. You will do great : )

    Reply

  3. beckdogenator
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 19:05:36

    How exciting! Hoping everything goes smoothly 🙂

    Reply

  4. jonsie13
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 22:39:11

    I was much like you with my husband before our baby arrived in June. 10.5 years, just us, no ‘real’ clue about babies. Haha. People kept asking if we were ready & I would honestly answer ‘we don’t know”!
    I’ll just say that it is amazing how you just sort of fall in to these roles.
    Congratulations to you guys! Can’t wait to ‘meet’ your little one!

    Reply

  5. ksirahsirah
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 13:41:18

    You & hubby will do wonderfully. I’m nursing my 5 day old son now & your right there is only so much you can prepare for… Listen to your intuition and you will be great! Baby’s love calm & are very sensitive to ones energy… Sounds like your cocoon will be the perfect spot for baby. Can’t wait for baby announcement!!! KSS

    Reply

  6. NWChickie
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 21:41:04

    So excited for you two!! I realize you posted this several days ago but I haven’t been on wordpress in a while. I have been wondering how you’re doing! Can’t wait to hear how your babys birth went and see a pic of your little miracle! And to find out the gender! How exciting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

