11 weeks down, 29 to go!

So crazy that in a week, I will be in my 2nd trimester!  I don’t think I have let myself read that far in any of the pregnancy books so this will be exciting!!

We are going to tell the rest of our friends and family soon and we are thinking about doing one of those coming out videos where we use flashcards and music to get the message across for our pregnancy announcement.  I wanted to include the 2 year struggle with infertility and IVF success.  I still am, but my mother almost sounded horrified at the thought of telling people.  She was afraid they would laugh at me or make fun of me.  I think the world has changed since her day and people will see it as something special.  I worked my ass off to get pregnant.  I didn’t just have a sip of a wine cooler and get knocked up.  My struggle is something I am proud of.  I want to show my child how wanted they were and how hard we fought for them.  

What do you ladies think?  Did you tell people about your infertility struggles?  Would you?  Especially in the birth announcement?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ambivalentjourney
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 13:48:40

    YAY!!!! I can’t believe we are almost a third of the way done already!! It’s so crazy 🙂 I know of some people who shared their struggle during this pregnancy announcement but I know for us we won’t be doing that with the general public. If someone asks me personally “was this planned” and it is a friend or family member I plan on sharing a brief summary. Good luck! Are you going to wait until after your 12 week ultrasound (when is it?) or just when you hit 12 weeks? xoxo

    Reply

  2. jonsie13
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 13:51:32

    Everyone we know well knew about what we were going through. I see no reason to hide it. I hate the infertility is such a dirty word. Those of us who struggle with it are the only ones who can change that. I say go for it. Its not an easy road to go down, why keep it a secret?

    Reply

  3. Persephone
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 07:13:44

    I’d tell them all. It’s part of who you are, part of your baby already. My boy is almost 9 months old and I still feel infertile, still describe myself as such. If anyone ever says anything negative to me or my son, well, at least I chose to get pregnant (in the end) and used the best of my hubby’s swimmers not any old random sperm that lucked upon an egg 🙂

    Reply

  4. operationmiracle
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 21:15:36

    If I knew you and you included it, I would admire you more. Getting pregnant with IVF is a major accomplishment!! I probably wouldn’t, but not because I don’t think it’s a good idea! I’m just a super private person and I prefer to blend into the background. I’d be afraid if I told people then they’d want to ask me questions about it. If that kind of thing doesn’t bother you, go for it!!

    Reply

  5. NWChickie
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 07:40:34

    Definitely tell them if that’s what feels right. Just as Jonsie13 said, we also had already told our close friends/family what we are going through. They have all been rooting for us since day one. There’s only one person that seemed uneasy about the thought of IVF and that’s my boss. He’s religious and wondered how I felt about toying with nature like that. I told him it didn’t bother me at all. He has accepted it and is very happy for us. Like you jaygore, I want people to know how long and hard we’ve worked to get to this point. Usually if I tell someone I don’t know very well that I’m pregnant, they’ll say “oh congratulations” and smile like it’s not a big deal and then I look at them and reply with “thank you, we’ve been trying for a really long time so this is a blessing” and they get a more sympathetic look on their face. For me personally I think this is a good way to deal with those feelings without telling them all the details. But believe me, if I get in a room with a bunch of women or maybe some other couples our age, I spill all the beans (minus the reason why we are infertile because hubby is a little sensitive about his sperm quality). It feels so good to share the journey with people so they can appreciate why it’s such a blessing to us. Long story short…. spill the beans to whomever you want!! Oh and congrats on almost reaching 2nd trimester!! It is surreal isn’t it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

