This is why I don’t share….

Sigh. We just told my in laws that we have been doing infertility treatments. We haven’t told them because his father can be kind of a jerk about these sorts of things and will constantly ask us when we are giving him grandkids. Including asking me if I knew that there is only a certain time a month a woman can get pregnant. (I KNOW!!!!!!) And tonight, his father did not disappoint. We didn’t go into detail about my husband’s sperm issues, but it didn’t stop my father in law from bragging about how manly his own sperm is and how he is the man, sperm knocking down doors blah blah blah. I almost flipped the table. My husband is not pumping with bravado and arrogance. He is gentle, kind, giving and all around an amazing guy. When my hubby went to get the car, I really let into my father in law, right in front of my mother, sister and brother in law. I told them I would not stand for the father treating and disrespecting my husband like that. I told them that it took a lot for us to share this and that he was breaking the trust by joking and teasing. Who knows if I got through. Oh, and I have to cook Thanksgiving for these people. Sigh…….Sorry, just got home and was still fuming. I just needed to vent 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. buckrugerlayla
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 23:39:15

    Atta girl. This was exactly everything that should be said.

    Reply

  2. myivfstoryblog
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 04:49:41

    Hopefully he’ll realise what he’s done and be a bit more tactful in future! ! Good for you for standing up to him and showing him what a d**ck he was being. We’re the same, the only person who knows is my best friend, I couldn’t stand all the ‘pity’ looks that my sister got.

    Reply

  3. Elisha
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 07:53:10

    yikes!! I can’t imagine I would have been fuming too! Some people just don’t think before they speak. My in laws know about our fertility issues but they act like the issue isn’t there…which also makes it hard and awkward. It would be nice for them to show support or encouragement but instead they just ignore. I think your situation is worse though :/

    Reply

  4. A Calm Persistence
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 08:20:04

    Good for you! I’m so glad you stuck up for him… I can’t stand it when people are hurtful about all of this. I know it really took a lot for you to share your struggles. Hopefully you got through to them.

    Reply

  5. lydiaseeks
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 09:20:12

    Good for you for speaking up! So much better than silently fuming. My sister’s husband thinks they are fertile bc he has “super sperm” and I totally resent it. You are fertile by PURE LUCK and I am infertile by pure SHIT LUCK.

    Reply

  6. Megan
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 11:05:04

    What a jerk! He deserved for you to lay into him, I hope you got through cause he deserves a good swift kick in the butt for that.

    Reply

  7. V
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 13:28:19

    This makes me furious just reading it! I can’t imagine how you must have felt. I’m glad you were able to call him out on it – I hope that he keeps his mouth shut tomorrow – and that you find that if he does make comments that other people will let him know that it’s inappropriate. I’m so sorry you guys had to deal with this!

    Reply

  8. Becky
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 00:42:39

    Good for you! I’m so glad to hear that you stood up for your husband!!! Some people are just so insensitive! I hope this will be a good lesson for your FIL and he’ll be much better behaved in the future!

    Reply

  9. missrain
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 14:19:43

    Good for you! He had it coming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

