45 follicles

And I can’t use one this cycle. Cycle cancelled. I’m okay, to everyone’s surprise. Although I will be getting very very drunk tonight. It surprisingly not as hard as a BFN…..

Thank you for all of the lovely and kind words 🙂 You each made my heart smile this week and each of you have been a big help in keeping my spirits from the gutter.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 15:42:49

    Wait, can they not do the retrieval but freeze the embryos for an FET? Either way, I’m sorry you’re going through this. Hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 07, 2013 @ 15:46:48

      Either way, he would have to give me an HCG trigger and that is what would aggravate the ohss. The pregnancy from a fresh transfer would make it worse, but it would be really bad either way

      Reply

  2. bebeparler
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 17:44:08

    Hiya Jaygore, that’s really too bad. Same happened me first IVF but they ploughed ahead anyway. None of the resulting embryos made it so perhaps it will save you more grief by just canceling the cycle. It’s so frustrating I know. Hugs x

    Reply

  3. barrenbetty
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 18:06:00

    Oh I’m so sorry… Big hugs xxx defo have a wine or two, or three.

    Reply

  4. V
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 21:32:43

    I wanted to clarify that my “like” was for the fact that you are doing okay, not the fact that you can’t use them.

    Reply

  5. lisaliteration
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 07:55:45

    Ugh, sorry to hear that. Bring on the booze! Next go ’round they will know you are prone to OHSS and hopefully will be able to prevent it from happening. Hang in there, lady!

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 08, 2013 @ 23:01:50

      Thanks Lisa! My doctor told me before we started that normally he does an injectable IUI cycle just to test the drugs but because of my age, he didn’t want to risk the chance of high multiples. So I guess the cancelled cycle was the learning cycle. I’m just lucky that it didn’t cost us anything more than the meds and my sanity!

      Reply

      • lisaliteration
        Jun 09, 2013 @ 11:14:12

        Exactly. Still frustrating, but it will be worth it when your next cycle is successful 🙂

  6. newtoivf
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 16:39:32

    I’ve only just caught up with your week.., oh honey I’m so so sorry. Go and get totally spanking drunk xx

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 08, 2013 @ 23:03:37

      I did and I am now! Margaritas at home are the best. I have a special high quality tequila that I only get to drink once a month during a BFN. How are you doing? I hope the injectables are treating you okay!

      Reply

      • newtoivf
        Jun 10, 2013 @ 07:05:31

        doing ok but have my stimms scan tomorrow which I’m pretty nervous about! think I’m going to have the opposite problem to you and have not many follies that are all too small! Grrr this IVF process! xx

      • jaygore
        Jun 10, 2013 @ 09:29:48

        I would share! Believe me 🙂 Good luck with the scan and I hope your follies grow at a normal and healthy rate. Well as normal as you can get by pumping our bodies with hormones! xx

  7. missymakes
    Jun 08, 2013 @ 17:12:07

    Oh, how frustrating. Kudos to you for taking it so well, though! Enjoy those cocktails!

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 08, 2013 @ 23:06:05

      Thanks! I think it is a bit easier than previous months because I don’t even feel like I got a full try in. I am enjoying another one right now 🙂 Margarita!

      Reply

  8. Meg
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 22:37:57

    I’m so sorry, hon. 😦 😦

    Reply

  9. IVFfervescent gal
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 17:26:11

    I was just revisiting this post and am staggered by the different sorts of disappointments we can get on this IVF journey. You with 45 follicles and a cancellation. Me with ONE follicle only. We’re not cancelling (retrieval is in 24 hours) but shit it isn’t looking good. It’s tough, hey?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

