Let’s give it one more chance, again

I am super tired, but I did want to give an update.  

I was nervous all day and couldn’t concentrate.  I was nauseous as all get out this morning, couldn’t even eat, I just wanted to retch it up.  But I got to work, ate some pineapple, and felt better.  But the closer and closer it got to 3’oclock, the more nervous and jittery I got.  My RE didn’t call until almost 4:30pm!  I was trying my best not to convince myself that it could be good news.  That they were double checking to see if they could book the room for the egg retrieval.  I didn’t want to think like that.  I wanted to give up.

I have been coasting for two nights.  My number on Tuesday was 5000 and that was the highest range my RE will do a retrieval.  Yesterday was 7000.  Today was 7300.  I wasn’t crushed because even though my follicles are most likely still growing, my number didn’t shoot up very much more.  Which means there is a slight possibility that my number will get down into a safer range tomorrow morning at my blood test.  So if you have been crossing your fingers for me, can you cross them for me once more?

Oh!  And my doctor took almost 20 minutes to go through everything with me and all of the possibilities with the outcomes.  Even told me about other current and past patients (sans names of course) to try to alleviate some of my worry.  He doesn’t talk down to me.  He respects that I know my shit and I Google and actually research everything.  He talks to me with medical jargon because I know it or because I will just Google it later.  But he restored my faith in him.  I believe in him and that he knows what he is doing.  And he really doesn’t want me to get OHSS.  I took my notepad into the conference room this time and took notes while he was talking so I wouldn’t forget my questions.  I asked about everything.  I even asked if it was a good thing that my level didn’t immediately drop, because he told me that if the level dropped too quickly that it could mean the eggs were no good in the first place.  So I did take some comfort in that.  He also said that since I have only a limited number of Egg Retrievals per lifetime in Illinois, he wants to use them wisely.  I love that he keeps that in mind.

I am no where near as bloated feeling as I was two days ago, I’m just really sleepy now.  Everyone at work noticed how upset I was yesterday and they were super nice to me today.  I wish it was like that everyday.  So, blood test in the morning.  Oy, and Fridays are their busy days in the morning.  GOTTA GO TO BED!  I’ll update tomorrow.  I am keeping hope.  Not too much, but I have just enough 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisaliteration
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:29:05

    That sounds promising! Fingers crossed that you will get your egg retrieval!

    Reply

  2. missymakes
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 08:37:46

    Nice to hear things might be looking up! Where are you from in Illinois? I’m from the north suburbs and I go to Dr. Sherbahn at Advanced Fertility Centers of Chicago.

    Reply

  3. Mrs. Wuestewald
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 10:17:09

    fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  4. Melanie
    Jun 07, 2013 @ 15:36:03

    KMFX and happy, happy thoughts of hope and dreams for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

