Crying @ 3:00pm on Day 9 of Stims

So I found out this morning from the tech that I have 35 follicles ranging from a couple of 12s, mostly 14s, a few 15s and 17s.  I was excited all day.  Thinking, “Hey, all this discomfort isn’t so bad, I am rocking at the egg making!”.  How foolish I was to even get hope or happiness.  I saw my phone had a missed call from an Unknown number.  Only person who calls like that is my RE.  His voicemail just said he would call me back in a few minutes.  Crap.  That is not good.  So I paged him immediately and he called me back.  Sigh.  I was having a good day.

Apparently my Estridol / Estrogen / E2 (whatever you want to call it) level is on the highest level that my RE is comfortable with.  5000.  I became stoic on the phone.  I always have my pen and pad whenever I speak to the doctor or nurse, so that is what saved me because I didn’t hear or compute anything he said.  

What I did gather is that because I have so many follicles, my Estrogen level is going really high.  But apparently I have to “Coast” now.  That means no more stims until my retrieval day.  He said he would have moved my retrieval day up to Thursday, but he was afraid my follicles were big enough yet.  So I have to coast.  I will keep doing the Lupron in the mornings.  I will go in for more blood work and ultrasound tomorrow morning.  Please send all the good thoughts that you can.  I need my follicles to grow and my estrogen level to stay the same or go down.  Then he won’t cancel this cycle.  He is very concerned about OHSS.  Oh, and he said if my estrogen level drops too much then that might mean that the eggs in those follicles are not good!  So I was freaking out all around.  

I called my husband and had my pity party cry fest.  Then I went back to my desk and started my Googling.  I didn’t get any other work done for the rest of the day, but it was either Google or go home.  Google actually made me feel a tiny bit better.  Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome actually mostly means that if I become pregnant from the transfer, then I would have to deal with the OHSS symptoms for about 9 weeks.  But if a woman isn’t pregnant, the symptoms go away during the next period.  OHSS happens after the trigger shot.  I read online that I should drink Gatorade until I can’t drink any more, and then drink more.  Then eat protein and salty foods.  So, yay?  But I am also super full constantly.

So that is where my first IVF cycle is at now.  Waking up at 5am for the past 3 work days has not been fun for me.  The Lupron already has made me completely hazy and confused when speaking aloud.  Now add that to being tired and feeling like you have two small water balloons in your tummy.  

The doctor will call me around 3pm tomorrow.  I’ll update tomorrow whatever the result may be.  But I really want it to be good news.  I can’t lose faith, but I am not sure how to not get too excited and have hope.  I have struggled with this the most throughout my entire TTC journey.  

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. barrenbetty
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 03:03:32

    Oh man, what a stress. Will be thinking of you… Hope this is just a minor blip and the rest can go ahead as planned xxx

    Reply

  2. newtoivf
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 03:20:32

    Really have everything crossed for you xx

    Reply

  3. roribeat
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 04:21:16

    Hope everything will turn out well and some good news for you tomorrow

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 08:00:42

    First of all, I’m so sorry you’re going through this. Second of all, you’re exactly right on the gatorade, protein, and salty foods. Seriously, it will help a lot. Third of all, check out this blog: http://onpinsandneedlesblog.wordpress.com/. She recently had OHSS, and she was actually glad they didn’t do the transfer, as she was feeling so ill. My fingers are crossed for you!

    Reply

  5. lisaliteration
    Jun 05, 2013 @ 08:18:01

    Well shoot, this is not the news you want to hear! But don’t lose hope. Like others have said, there are things you can do to minimize the risk of OHSS. And even if you DO get OHSS, I’ve heard of lots of women who have gone through with the egg retrieval and frozen all their embryos so they can recover before transferring them. I’ll be thinking of you and hoping your coasting gets your levels back where they should be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

