Day 8 of Stims: 50 Shades of Infertility

9f0787b6ae81047796f299b3697d310fDay 8 of Follistim.  What can I say?  Oh wait, I know.  I feel like a mother hen sitting on 20 eggs.  It started on Friday.  My pants were super tight around my waist and it was uncomfortable any way I tried to get comfortable.  I have this extreme feeling of just blargh sluggishness mixed with fullness.  And I have a fuggedaboudit attitude about everything.  Luckily, non hormonal Jaime kicked ass at her job for the past month so everything is running smoothly there.  Now I am hormonal Jaime.  Do not turn on an episode of “The Price is Right” or even a slightly sappy commercial unless you want to watch me cry like a bitch.  And I am not a crier.  But because of all of the extra eggs, I have a lot more estrogen in my body than I have ever been used to.

I am just going to give a straight up account of everything since I really can’t put thoughts together very well.  You should see my emails at work.  Professional, but boy do I jump around on topics!

I went for my 2nd u/s and b/w (ultrasound and bloodwork) to check on my follicles this morning.  We got there at 6:50am and were still 8th in line!  But they got us in and out by 7:30.  But we have to do better tomorrow.  So we are making our lunches and breakfast tonight so we can just run out in the morning.  Anyway!  The tech said that my lining looked great and that my follies are coming along very nicely.  She said one 19, a couple of 17 and a whole lot of 14s.  My dr called me earlier this evening to let me know pretty much what she said.  I have a lot of follicles and we are hoping there are awesome and healthy eggs in there 🙂

I have to go back for another u/s with b/w in the morning.  Oy.  But he said that I should be doing the trigger shot Wednesday night / Thursday morning around 3:00am.  That should be more than fun.  And NERVE-RACKING!  What if we oversleep!  I am freaking out about this part!  Maybe I will borrow alarm clocks and just scare the crap out of myself to wake up at 3:00am.  Hubby can wake up with just his phone alarm.  I need a marching band playing “Gangnam Style” and cooking BACON in order for me to even stir in the mornings.

So trigger shot early Thursday morning mean Egg Retrieval on Friday afternoon.  Exactly 35 hours later.  Apparently I can’t eat or drink after midnight the night before retrieval, so I am not sure how that will even be possible for 14 hours.  Then, after the Egg Retrieval on Friday, the 3-day Transfer can be on Monday or the 5-day Transfer can be on Wednesday.  Crazy, right?  I can’t believe that it’s almost time.  I think hubby and I will try sex either tonight or tomorrow night.  Because I know we have to save up for his part on Friday and then I know my lady bits won’t want to see anything remotely like a phallus for at least a week.

For work, I would obviously take this Friday off and use the weekend to recuperate.  Then, whether we do the 3day or 5day transfer, I would take that day plus AT LEAST 1 more day off.  Hubby will take those days off as well and we will just hang out at home with Tivo, Hulu and a bunch of board games.

After the Dr calls with my results tomorrow, I will let my bosses know that I am taking Friday and possibly Monday or Wednesday off.  They already know that I have a set of medical days that can’t be predetermined, but I gave them a month’s warning.  So help me if they try to say SHIT, I will just tell them, in the most polite way possible, that I matter more to me.  I wouldn’t quit, but they would still try to make me feel guilty.  Especially since my direct manager requested this Friday off.  But she and I don’t even do the same thing, so we are not each other’s back up.  And I will NOT be doing any work on those days that I am off.  I’m not getting paid for it, yet I am being charged for the days off.  But like I said, I am caught up and my stuff can run almost on autopilot for a week.

So yeah.  That’s about it.  For the past 7 days, I was on 300 units of Follistim but my dr told me to only take 250 units tonight.  Hubby is cleaning the kitchen and I think he is prepping the Follistim pen now.  I think he likes jabbing me a little too much….Like some kind of 50 Shades of Infertility or something lol

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bebeparler
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 03:38:46

    You’re getting close! Don’t worry about the fasting. Yes it’s uncomfortable but they’ll put you on a drip so you don’t get dehydrated. Excited for you !

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 07:51:50

      Thanks Bebe! I think we will go out for a nice dinner on Thursday night. Probably the Melting Pot. I’ll make sure to cook everything well done lol When I had my polypectomy, the gave me the IV and Twilight sedation. I remember having to pee so much afterwards.

      Reply

  2. newtoivf
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 07:33:47

    really great to read all of this – I’m on day 2 stimms so like to see what I’ve got coming!! good luck!

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 07:52:33

      I’m glad I can help 🙂 When is your first ultrasound and bloodwork? Good Luck!

      Reply

      • newtoivf
        Jun 04, 2013 @ 07:54:51

        I’ve got my next scan a week today! Ekk! I can’t quite believe I could be going in for EC next week! Although think it likely to be the week after as I have low AMH so don’t think I’m going to respond to the drugs all that well!

      • jaygore
        Jun 04, 2013 @ 08:00:40

        Keep up positive thoughts. They change the dosages based on your results, so you never know! Did you mean you have your first scan today or a week from today? Either way, Good Luck! Mine are growing and I feel like I have two granny smith apples in my belly. But like my doctor keeps saying about eggs and sperm, it only takes one good one 🙂

  3. lisaliteration
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 08:15:10

    Exciting! You are getting so close, and it sounds like everything is going well. That is wonderful! Time to break out the yoga pants.

    Reply

    • jaygore
      Jun 04, 2013 @ 08:18:29

      HaHa! Yoga pants would have been a great idea today! I work in an office, but I need comfort too! I have some looser dress pants on but my tummy is so full that I have a big pillow between me and my desk that I lean on. It doesn’t hurt, it is just uncomfortable. But I am thankful for it because it means that it is working 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

